Gala opening of OPL-II on May 1

CUTTACK, Apr 07, 2013 (Team OCA): 

The second edition of Odisha Premier League, the state version of Indian Premier League T20 Cricket Tournament, will be unveiled with an entertainment-packed ceremony at the floodlit Barabati Stadium, Cuttack on May 1, host Odisha Cricket Association announced today.

The first edition of the OPL, featuring 10 teams, 171 players and 44 matches was conducted at five venues from May 22 to June 12, 2010. Western Samurai Rourkela, led by Natraj Behera, won the inaugural edition, defeating Katak Barabati Tigers in the final by four runs at Barabati Stadium.

Following the gala opening ceremony of the second edition of OPL, matches will commence at Barabati Stadium (Cuttack) and VSS Stadium (Sambalpur) on April 2 and 3 respectively. Altogether eight teams will compete in the cash-rich OPL-II. Teams are: Barabati, Dhauli, Baitarani, Subarnarekha (Group-I at Barabati Stadium) and Konark, Chilika, Mahanadi, Rushikulya (Group-B at VSS Stadium).

The OPL-II will involve a total of 176 players, who have been placed in five grades. There will be 32 players each in Grade A, B, C; 40 in Grade D and 24 in Grade E. Payment for graded players has been fixed as Grade-A: Rs 50,000, Grade-B Rs 40,000, Grade-C Rs 30,000, Grade-D Rs 20,000 and Grade-E Rs 10,000.

Teams will play matches on double-league basis after being divided into two groups and the top two teams from each group will qualify for semifinals. Both the semifinals and the final will be played at Barabati Stadium. The champions of OPL-II will get cash a cash prize of Rs 3 lakhs, while the runners-up will take home Rs 2 lakhs. The third-placed team will be richer by Rs 1 Lakh, while the Man of the Tournament will pocket Rs 25,000. The grand final will take place at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack on May 12.